In IndieWire’s review of the first two episodes, Elliott Smith wrote: “While many view the West with rose-tinted sunglasses, “Them” shows how the corrosive effects of racism were in full rot even in the City of Angels. As soon as the Emory family pulls into the driveway of its new home, their new white neighbors are out in full force to protest, led by a proto-Karen named Betty Wendell (Alison Pill), in all her mid-century modern brittleness.”

The two trailers released so far offer a glimpse into the unnerving new neighborhood as well as a few of the hostile forces within, including a grinning Pill, hordes of “Stepford Wives” gathered around a house, and a surprise guest at the very end. The fear evident in Shahadi Wright Joseph (“Us”) is well-earned. Waithe discussed the evolution of her career in a July 2020 interview with IndieWire, including the themes and stories of her various films and television projects. “It’s always just about what interests us. I think that is a form of freedom. Some people may say, “Just tell Black stories. Just tell Black, queer stuff.” Well, I’m going to do that because I don’t know how not to. But I can also do other things, and I think that will be my next mission is to hope that people can watch me grow and do things that may be unexpected. But that’s the job of the artist, is to evolve, is to shift, is to grow. That’s what I want to continue to do. If I’m doing something that looks like something I did already, that’s a problem. I want to aspire to be is always shifting and evolving, and not always being able to recognize myself. Check out the full trailer for “Them” below:

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

 Them  Trailer  Amazon   Lena Waithe s Terror Series Sets Release Date - 22